Crab Apple Cottage,            01874 658780, 07779 100653

Self-catering accommodation        www.welshruralcottage.co.uk

Llanfihangel Talyllyn, near Talgarth, Brecon, LD3 7TW.

We have amazing 5 star reviews on Trip Advisor (click on high-lighted words for the link) and Airbnb.

The following is just a small selection received from our guests over the past year or so:

 

"We had a great time in this cottage. Everything was perfect!!"

Henk and Connie, August 2019.

 

"Nick's place was stunning and also in a stunning setting. We stayed here for work and it was the perfect place to wind down after a long and hard day. Nick was a fantastic host who couldn’t do enough for us. Would definitely go again for work or leisure!"

Laura, July 2019.

 

"An impeccably kept rural cottage, very clean and well appointed with a private garden A quiet country location but close enough to villages, Pubs and Brecon’s stunning walks and attractions. Excellent directions from host made it easy to find. We would definitely stay here again."

Kim and John, July 2019.

 

“Lovely cottage in a stunning location. Nick was a fabulous host, quick to respond, and very generous with his time. The cottage was beautiful, and extremely comfortable. We would be very happy to stay again, and would highly recommend it to anyone looking in the area.”

Ursula and Mark, June 2019.

 

"We have had a great holiday in Wales and Nick’s place was perfect. It was in a beautiful location and it was lovely and comfortable and had everything we needed. We had a wonderful holiday and it was a perfect base for exploring the area."

Katherine and Ste, June 2019 

 

"The cottage is cosy and has all amenities you'll need. Nick had kindly set us up with some eggs and milk and ensured our stay was enjoyable. Thank you!"

Louise, June 2019.

 

"If you want peace and quiet this is the place to stay! Such a lovely outlook across paddocks with lambs bouncing about. we thoroughly enjoyed our stay thanks Nick"

Evelyn and Tony, May 2019.

 

"Thank you for making my son and his little family welcome. They had an amazing time and made lots of lovely memories. My grandson even giggled for the first time."

Dawn, May 2019.

 

"Beautiful place in a peaceful haven. Heaven"

Matt and Alice, May 2019.

 

"Clean tidy place to stay. Perfect for a couple. All you need is there. Great location and accommodation. Highly recommended!"

James and Sue, May 2019.

 

"This place is so homely and so much nicer than the pictures! Lovely location out in the sticks - the stars shine so bright! Lots to do in the area - well worth driving to the 4 waterfalls trail (about 45 mins drive) as it is so beautiful!"

Hannah and Steve, April 2019.

 

"Fantastic cottage in an amazing location!

What a wonderful stay! The cottage is in one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed in and we were really fortunate with the weather. We were welcomed by Nick when we arrived, who showed us around the cottage and let us know the best places to visit locally. The cottage itself was immaculate, with all the facilities we needed - a comfy bed, decent shower and a modern kitchen area. Although not the biggest of accommodation, it is perfectly sized for a couple and had everything we needed. Looking forward to staying again, hopefully we'll be lucky with the weather again next time! Thank you Nick & Sue!!"

Russell and Nikki, March 2019

 

"We had 2 nights at the cottage and would love to have stayed longer. It's a great location for getting out walking, really well finished and a very comfortable place to stay. Nick was a great host. Excellent communication before we arrived and very helpful when we arrived with suggestions of where to visit and eat."

John, March 2019.

 

"Nick was an excellent host. Check-in was smooth, the place was spotlessly clean and he gave us lots of local tips for walks. We did both the walks recommended and they were absolutely gorgeous :) We loved opening the curtains in the morning to see 3 week old lambs. We would recommend to anyone."

Natasha and Amy, March 2019.

 

“We had a brilliant stay at the cottage. The decor was lovely and it was sparkling clean. The location was brilliant for exploring the beacons and Nick gave us lots of suggestions and information about the surrounding area. I would highly recommend it to anyone!”

Georgia and Andrew, February 2019.

 

"Just as advertised: very cosy little cottage in the middle of Brecon park. Really easy access to loads of walks, but also fun local attractions and villages (Talgarth, Llangorse activity centre, Hay On Wye etc.). Nick was a great host, gave us some good recommendations so we could make the most of our time!"

Joe, February 2019.

 

"Such a gorgeous and cosy space in a very pretty and remote area. All the amenities are provided so it feels more like plush hotel hospitality. We really liked the farm eggs. Nick is very welcoming too, and quick to respond to messages. He also provided loads of detailed information in advance. It was perfect in every way."

Arianwen, and Matt, February 2019.

 

"Upon arrival we were greeted by Nick who showed us around and suggested places to visit. The cottage was beautifully clean with homely touches throughout. We loved our stay and will recommend to friends and family! Thanks again Nick and Sue!"

Emma and Phil, February 2019.

 

"Crab Apple Cottage is such a great place, so cosy and comfortable it had everything you need for a lovely stay. Nick was so helpful showing us around the cottage and advising us On the best spots around the area too, nothing faulted our stay."

Hannah and Jordan, February 2019.

 

"Thank you for letting us stay in your gorgeous cottage. Warm and cosy and surrounded by fab walks"

Henry and Kitty, January 2019.

 

"Thank you for lovely stay. It was a perfect stay."

Carys and Sandy, January 2019

 

"Lovely cosy cottage with everything you need for a comfortable stay."

Hannah, January 2019

 

"beautiful place to stay. nick was very responsive and helpful before we got there. the place is in amazing surroundings and the house was spotless with everything you needed. will definatly recommend to others and hopefully will come back soon. wish i could have put more stars on the review thank you"

Rachel and Juan, January 2019.

 

"What a outstanding trip. The cottage was amazing and the local knowledge Nick provided made the trip even better. Thank you Nick"

Daniel and Laura, December 2018.

 

"A great little cottage in a peaceful location to get away from it all. The host was great at showing us around the accommodation when we arrived and then left us to it. Would highly recommend!"

Laura and Matt, November 2018.

 

"This is a beautiful, cosy and well kept cottage in an idyllic location! There are plenty of walks and days out nearby, with many maps and guidebooks in the cottage to help plan your trip. Nick is very friendly and on hand to offer advice and tips. It is the perfect trip away for two, and I couldn’t recommend it more."

Alice and George November 2018

 

"Absolutely fantastic two nights here with my fiancé. Very clean cottage and some lovely touches with the tea/coffee/eggs/milk. Nick was very friendly and gave good advice about the surrounding area. Thank you. We’d love to stay again if we could!"

Matt and Katie, October 2018.

 

"A lovely annex in beautiful countryside. It had everything we needed for a fantastic stay and we would have loved to have stayed for longer. Nick was a very good host and provided us with local tips on the area and made sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. Thank you Nick!"

Ben, October 2018.

 

“Wonderful cottage. Remote and yet extremely easy to drive to. The cottage itself was immaculate and so comfortable. Nick was very helpful with suggestions of areas to visit and went above and beyond to ensure my stay was as easy as possible. Couldn’t recommend enough.”

Nisha, October 2018.

 

"My favourite Airbnb yet! Everything about our stay was wonderful."

Jade and Darren, October 2018.

 

“Such an amazing place to visit, Nick was brilliant and was extremely helpful. The cottage was stunning and set in a tranquil location. I would definitely recommend Nick and will DEFINITELY be returning.”

Paul, September 2018.

 

“Perfect rural setting and excellent accommodation ”

"Friendly welcome. Comfortable cottage with all the facilities needed for a break away from home."

Judith, September 2018.

 

“Delightful cottage, great service”

"Quiet location, light, sunny cottage with views of sheep and hills all around. Nic very helpful and keen to please us. Cottage small and very clean and had everything, including a good size bed and lots of local information and books (meanings of Welsh place names interesting). Sunny, wind-sheltered little terrace with two chairs and table where we ate breakfast most mornings. Pretty climbing roses and shrubs in small garden next to terrace. Cottage is tucked in behind their house, but you don't see it except when driving in and out, so no disturbances."

Julia, August 2018.

 

"A great time, peaceful location. Thank you Nick for your welcome and suggestions of places to visit. Cottage was everything we could want for with lovely touches."

Pam and Richard, August 2018.

 

"A real gem. Beautiful location, quiet and tranquil, convenient for Brecon and all the local fabulous walks and mountains; immaculate, spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed. Tiny but perfectly formed. A warm welcome from the owner and all the creatures, and a very happy stay."

Cassie and Selwyn, August 2018.

 

"Beautifully perfect in every way- great for exploring what South Wales has to offer; great for peace, quiet and tranquility and the cottage has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Highly recommended :)"

Zoe, August 2018.

 

"Excellent accommodation. Solicitous host. Perfectly appointed cottage. Multiple thoughtful details. Impressive aesthetics. What is not to like?"

Furgus and Maria-Cruz, July 2018.

 

"What a fabulous little cottage in the most perfect and tranquil spot we could have imagined. From the moment we got there with the thoughtful little touches to the moment we left we were in heaven with the beautiful weather, tranquility of the lovely setting and hospitality from Nick. Thank you so much for having us, we had a wonderful stay!"

Marios and Beckie, July 2018

 

"Nick's place is absolutely fantastic and I would highly recommend. I stayed here for a weekend away with my girlfriend so we could climb the Pen Y Fann and walk the four water falls. It's within driving distance of both with some other great local villages. The property it's self is very well looked after, clean, cosy and has everything you need. We will be going back."

James and Jasmine, June 2018

 

"Wonderful stay at Crab Apple Cottage - nice and cosy, with a great location and friendly hosts! Highly recommended, excellent value for money!"

Eloise and Julien, June 2018

 

"A lovely quiet location, friendly host with good communications. A great place for a quiet escape with good walks around. Would happily return."

Steve and Ellen, May 2018

 

"Great hosts, local trips, beautiful garden, amazing views from inside and outside the property, small but perfectly proportioned. Came back to the big smoke with lungs full of nature!"

Hamish and Alegria, May 2018

 

"Wonderful, quiet, peaceful and beautiful surrounding. A very cosy cottage with great views, just what you need for a break from work and rest after long walks!"

Lihan and Lidia, April 2018

 

"Although the weather around the Easter weekend was not perfect (it's Wales, after all), we enjoyed our stay very much. This is mainly due to Nick's lovely Crab Apple cottage: It is super-cozy, warm, very well equipped, clean and tidy and quiet. From our breakfast table we could observe grazing sheep and lambs, as well as the occasional pheasant. For rainy days, there is a well-filled book shelf and a DVD collection -- for better days, there are hiking maps, many excursion tips, and even the Lonely Planet guide for Wales. Above all, Nick is great host, and did everything to make our stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. Thank you very much!"

Franz and Anna. April 2018

 

"Perfect week in the Brecon Beacons

We had a fabulous stay at Nick's cottage. It is ideally located to visit the Brecon Beacons and is perfectly equipped. We genuinely could not have asked for more. Thanks again to the hosts who are doing an amazing job to make this place feels like your home."

Alexandra. February 2018

 

“Fabulous location, just 20 mins to Pen y Fan for a climb or Hay-on-Wye for book buying. Cottage was super-warm, even in the snow, sparkly clean with everything you need and added extras, which is a lovely touch. Nick and Sue are lovely too. I would definitely recommend and would love to go back.”

Alex and Elaine. March 2018

 

“If you are looking for a base for a weekend away in the Breacons this is the perfect place. Location is great - close to everything you want to see and some great pubs (the food at the Felin Fach is amazing). Cottage is compact but has everything you need and is beautiful with lots of lovely touches. Would highly recommend staying here.”

Haydon and Megan. March 2018.

 

“A neat, cosy little cottage, perfectly-sized for two, with everything you could want in it. Everything was clean and in good condition and it felt like somebody had really put thought into making the place nice. Nick was friendly, helpful and very kind in recommending local walks and places to eat - and there is a wealth of information in the form of books and leaflets in the cottage too. And the walks were great! Lovely place, would highly recommend.”

Mary and Alex. February 2018

 

“What a fantastic little cottage! We loved staying in Nick's place. If you're looking for a quiet retreat in the country then this is the place. Everything as in the pictures (better in real life), immaculately clean and tidy, good wifi and a well equipped kitchen. Hope to come back soon!”

Russell and Anna. September 2017

 

“This excellent cottage is close to Brecon by car and yet set in lovely rural countryside. Although small it is well proportioned and really well equipped and makes a superb base for walking or in our case fishing (and eating and drinking). The hosts were very friendly and helpful without being at all ingratiating. Would definitely stay again without a second thought. It was a lovely break.”

Gavin. April 2017.

 

“We had a lovely few days in this beautifully thought out cottage. The surroundings were lovely and I enjoyed a few mornings of being woken up by birdsong and lambs in the neighbouring fields. It was very cosy and well equipped, with modern decor and a lovely shower! Would definitely stay again.”

Kate and Ed. May 2015

 

“This cottage in the Beacon’s area is a gem. We stayed at Crab Apple for a week, walking and hiking, but also travelling the many small roads that crisscross mid-Wales. We were rarely disappointed in this region, but were unfailingly happy to return at the end of each day to our base at Crab Apple. The cottage is very tiny - true to the photos - so for some it may not work as well as it did for us. This said, living here for this week we were struck by how well the design and furnishing, including the well-equipped small kitchen, permitted us to enjoy full home-cooked meals, a nook for dining, a cosy living space for evening reading, a lingering bath, and a sound sleep on a good bed with lovely linens. The cottage has a cute landscaped deck, which we enjoyed as our evening hangout. And it is well insulated with great heating and ready hot water, which is particularly appreciated for off-season travelling. Nick was a great source of information on the area and a welcoming host.”

Claude and Suzanne.  April 2015

 

“This is a fantastic place to stay! Nick made us feel very welcome and showed us around when we got there. The kitchen is well equipped to cook your own meals. Very warm and comfy cottage, very clean, hotel quality bed. The views are lovely! It's close to Talgarth which is worth a visit. I highly recommend this cottage.”

Vedrana and Matthew.  March 2015

 

“Amazing weekend! This place was JUST what I hoped it would be - a beautiful, quiet, rural, little gem of a cottage. Such a happy, relaxing, gorgeous place - we spent the days wandering around the country side, and the evenings cooking and relaxing in this lovely, spotlessly clean, comfortable cottage...the mam sheep and two baby lambs outside made it an ideal early Spring. Nick greeted us and showed us around, and left us to enjoy the place as our own! 10/10!”

Beth and Matt.  February 2015

What our guests have said about their stay at the cottage: